2017 Stakeholder symposium agenda banner

    symposium home icon STAKEHOLDER SYMPOSIUM







Contact the symposium team at:
AMENDED: Special guest speaker Sen. Kevin de Leon will not deliver remarks at this event. Attendees are encouraged to enjoy dinner Wednesday as scheduled, followed by a networking event. 
The agenda is subject to change

Day 1 - Wednesday, October 18  

7:30 a.m. ​

Event check-in opens: 1st floor lobby
Technology showcase and continental breakfast

9:15 a.m. Welcome and opening remarks: In the midst of an electric revolution
   Steve Berberich, President and CEO, California ISO

9:30 a.m. ​ Special presentation: Electricity and the new economy
   Featuring Mary Nichols, Chair, California Air Resources Board

10:00 a.m. Panel discussion: Unlocking California's renewables "dividend"
  Steve Chadima, SVP External Affairs, Advanced Energy Economy
  Mark Rothleder, VP Market Quality & Renewable Integration, California ISO
  James Sweeney, Director, Precourt Energy Efficiency Center, Stanford University
  Carl Zichella, Director, Western Transmission, Natural Resources Defense Council

  Moderator: John Danner, Senior Fellow, UC Berkeley-Haas School of Business

​11:30 a.m. ​Networking break
12:00 p.m. Lunch and Keynote Speaker:
   Featuring Michael Liebreich, Founder and Chairman of the Advisory Board, 
   Bloomberg New Energy Finance
1:00 p.m. Networking break
1:30 p.m. Panel discussion: How can power technologies help unlock the renewable 
energy dividend?

  Kevin Smith, CEO, SolarReserve
  Paul Thomsen, Executive Director, Government and Regulatory Affairs,      Ormat Technologies, Inc.
  Ryan Wartena, President & Director of Product, Geli
  Mark Widmar, CEO, First Solar

  Moderator: Colleen Regan, Head of U.S. Utilities and Market Reform, 
  North America at Bloomberg New Energy Finance

2:45 p.m. Networking break
3:15 p.m. Panel discussion: View from the ground level: What does electrification mean 
to our economy?

  Ralph DiNola, CEO, New Buildings Institute
  Karen Norene Mills, Associate Counsel, California Farm Bureau Federation
  Catherine Reheis-Boyd, President, Western States Petroleum Association
  Jürgen Weiss, Principal, The Brattle Group

  Moderator: John Danner, Senior Fellow, UC Berkeley-Haas School of Business

4:30 p.m. Networking reception
6:00 p.m.

Dinner & Networking
CANCELLED: Special guest Kevin de León, California Senate President pro Tempore

"Oktoberfest" and live entertainment on the patio to follow

Day 2 - Thursday, October 19  

7:30 a.m. Technology showcase, continental breakfast and networking

8:30 a.m. Welcome Back
8:45 a.m. Panel discussion: ISO Board of Governors Electricity 2030 - Vision for a low carbon grid
  Richard Maullin, Chair, California ISO Board of Governors
  Mark Ferron, California ISO Board of Governors
  Angelina Galiteva, California ISO Board of Governors
  David Olsen, California ISO Board of Governors

  Moderator: John Danner, UC Berkeley-Haas & Princeton University
  Electricity 2030 - Trends and Tasks for the Coming Years (Draft)

​9:30 a.m. ​Stretch break
9:45 a.m. Panel discussion: Regulators Roundtable
  David W. Danner, Chairman, Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
  Libby Jacobs, President, The Jacobs Group LLC, former Iowa Utilities Board member & Chair 
  Dr. Laura Nelson, Energy Advisor, State of Utah
  Michael Picker, President, California Public Utilities Commission
  Moderator: Travis Kavulla, Vice-Chairman, Montana Public Service Commission

10:45 a.m. Stretch break
11:00 a.m. Panel discussion: Energy in the community
  Dr. Felicia Federico, Executive Director, California Center for Sustainable Communities
  at UCLA
  Geof Syphers, Chief Executive Officer of Sonoma Clean Power
  Parin Shah, Senior Strategist, Asian Pacific Environmental Network
  Judith Schwartz, President and Founder, To the Point

  Moderator: Martha Guzman Aceves, Commissioner, California Public Utilities Commission

12:00 p.m. Reflection, lunch and adjourn