

# PUBLIC SESSION MINUTES RC WEST OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE MEETING March 14, 2019 ISO Headquarters, Folsom, California

The Reliability Coordinator West Oversight Committee convened the public session meeting at approximately 12:30 p.m. and the presence of a quorum was established via roll call. The listing of Committee members in attendance is attached to these minutes.

#### **PUBLIC SESSION**

The following agenda items were discussed in public session:

## **BRIEFING ON OVERVIEW OF RC WEST OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE**

Phil Pettingill, Director – Regional Integration, provided an overview of the RC West Oversight Committee.

## **ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR**

Michelle Cathcart of Bonneville Power Administration was nominated and accepted the nomination as Chair of the RC West Oversight Committee. Steven Cobb of Salt River Project was nominated and accepted the nomination as Vice Chair of the Committee. There were no other nominations. The motion to elect Ms. Cathcart as Chair and Mr. Cobb as Vice Chair was approved.

#### **DECISION ON VOTING RULES AND PROCESS**

The motion to approve voting rules and process for the RC West Oversight Committee was approved.

#### **DECISION ON CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR TERMS**

Discussion ensued regarding terms for the Chair and Vice Chair of the RC West Oversight Committee and Committee members agreed that after initial terms, the Chair and Vice Chair will serve 2-year staggered terms. Beginning in March 2020, the Chair will be elected to a 2-year term and the Vice Chair will be elected to a 1-year term. In March 2021, the Chair will remain and a Vice Chair will be elected to a 2-year term. The motion to adopt the Chair and Vice Chair terms was approved.

#### RC OPERATIONAL UPDATE

Tim Beach, Director of Reliability Coordination – System Operations, provided an update regarding RC operations. Gina Wansor, Senior Client Representative – Customer

GC/CS/J. Rotz Page 1 of 2



Experience, provided an update regarding the Hosted Advanced Network Application (HANA).

## **WECC CERTIFICATION UPDATE**

Tricia Johnstone, Senior Advisor of Operations Compliance and Integration – System Operations, provided an update regarding RC certification.

## **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

The following potential future agenda items were discussed: Documented meeting process, voting rules and terms of Chair/Vice Chair. Provide updates on RC operations, onboarding, HANA, and certification.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

There was no public comment.

#### **ADJOURNED**

There being no additional public session matters to discuss, the public session was adjourned at approximately 2:20 p.m.

GC/CS/J. Rotz Page 2 of 2

#### RC West Steering Committee Attendance/Vote Status

Note: Votes will be counted from entities who are represented on the committee either in person, on the phone, or who have submitted an email indicating their entity's vote prior to the start of the RPSC meeting. Approvals are based on a simple majority (greater than 50%). Members who have a dissenting vote will be asked to submit their opinion in writing and provide to the RC West for posting on the public website.

Meeting Date: March 14, 2019

eeting Date: March 14, 2019							
					Voting Status		
				Harris de Etrania		2 Chair h fina	
Mambarlist				Item 1: Election	Item 2: Voting	Item 3: Chair/Vice	
Member List:			Attendance	Chair/Vice Chair	Rules/Process	Chair Term Limits	
Company	Primary	Alternate	(Y/N):	Vote (A/D):	Vote (A/D):	Vote (A/D):	
Arizona Electric Power Cooperative (AEPCO)	Shane Sanders	Alternate	(1/N).	Vote (A/D).	vote (A/D).	vote (A/D).	
Avista	Mike Magruder		Y				
Avangrid Renewables	Erin Kester	Kit Blair	Y				
Arizona Public Service (APS)	Kristie Cocco	Twyana Blair	v				
Balancing Authority of Northern California (BANC)	James Shetler	i wyana bian	Y				
Bonneville Power Administration (BPA)	Michelle Cathcart	Troy Simpson	Y				
California ISO (CAISO)	John Phipps	Larry Bellnap	Y				
	Gabriel Santillan	Eduardo Quirazco	Y				
Centro Nacional de Control de Energia (CENACE)			1				
Chelan County PUD	Chad Bowman	Chris McDarment/Anna Baird	N				
Douglas County PUD	Jeff Heminger	I a Davi Datta saara	Y		<u> </u>		
Grant County PUD	Jesus Lopez	LeRoy Patterson	N				
City & County of San Francisco (Hetch Hetchy)	Brian Pauling / Margaret Hannaford		Υ				
Idaho Power (IPC)	Ben Brandt		Υ				
Imperial Irrigation District (IID)	Tony Allegranza / Matt Smelser		Υ				
Los Angeles Department of Water and Power (LADWP)	Chris Lynn / Simon Zewdu	Glenn Barry	N				
Los Alamos	Cassandra Begay		Υ				
Modesto Irrigation District (MID)	James McFall		Υ				
Montana Alberta Tie Line	Michael Manarovici		N				
NaturEner Power Watch, LLC			N				
NaturEner Wind Watch, LLC	Marc DeNarie	Jeff Rehfeld	Υ				
NorthWestern Energy	Casey Johnston		Υ				
NV Energy	Shahzad Lateef	Chris Hofmann	Υ				
PacifiCorp	Erik Brookhouse	Kathee Downey	Υ				
Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E)	Tom French	Mike Pezone	Υ				
Portland General Electric (PGE)	Sarah Edmonds	Cory McAlister	Υ				
Public Service Co. of New Mexico (PNM)	Todd Fridley / Manuel Sanchez		Υ				
Puget Sound Energy (PSE)	Shauna Tran		Υ				
Salt River Project (SRP)	Steven Cobb	LeeAnn Torkelson	Υ				
Southern California Electric (SCE)	Jim Cherrie / Bert Hansen	Gary Tarplee/Tony Edeson	Υ				
San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E)	Katie Speirs / Ali Yari		Υ				
Seattle City Light (SCL)	Pawel Krupa	Denise Lietz	Υ				
Silicon Valley	Kevin Kolnowski	Ken Kohtz	N				
Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD)	Mark Willis	Paul Lau	Υ				
Snohomish County PUD	John Martinsen	Franklin Lu	Υ				
Tacoma Power	Chad Edinger	John Nierenberg	Υ				
Trans Bay Cable			N				
Tri-State	Keith Carman	Mary Ann Zehr	Υ				
Turlock Irrigation District (TID)	Casey Hashimoto		Υ				
Valley Electric Association (VEA)	Emily Fronk		N				
Western Area Power Administration Sierra Nevada Region	Sonja Anderson	Kirk Sornborger					
(WAPA-SN)	_ ·		Υ				