

### Decision on Transmission Maintenance Coordination Committee Membership Appointments



Stephen Rutty Manager, Grid Assets

Board of Governors Meeting General Session March 25-26, 2010

## As an Advisory Subcommittee to the Board, the primary duties of TMCC members are to:

- Develop, review, and recommend amendments to the ISO Transmission Maintenance Standards;
- Address transmission maintenance issues that affect reliable electric service or the stakeholders; and
- Meet periodically (currently quarterly) and provide public access to the meetings and process.



### In 2010 the TMCC will address the following:

- Sharing of best maintenance practices;
- Provide input into various regulatory proceedings to eliminate duplication of record and site compliance reviews;
- Discussing recent experiences with North American Electric Reliability Corporation reliability standards;
- Sharing of details on recent grid outage events.



## Currently the TMCC charter calls for 13 voting members:

- 1 ISO (Acting Chairperson)
- 5 Participating transmission owners
- 2 Labor organizations
- 5 Other stakeholder organizations



### A qualified applicant must have large industrial equipment expertise in one or more of the following areas:

- Supervision of maintenance personnel;
- Creation, implementation, performance of maintenance procedures;
- Budgeting, planning, managing maintenance programs; and
- Collecting and managing systems performance data.



#### The 2010 TMCC membership selection timeline is:

Jan. 8: Market notice requesting interested candidates

Feb. 12: Candidate nominations and resumes due

Feb. 12 - Feb. 26: ISO reviewed candidate qualifications

 Mar. 25 – 26: Management recommends candidates to the Board



# Management recommends the following seven candidates representing seven organizations:

Name	Organization	Interest Group
Rajbir Beasla	Pacific Gas & Electric	PTO
Charles Cooper	Western Area Sierra Nevada	PTO
Frank Johnson	San Diego Gas & Electric	PTO
James Alligan	Trans Bay Cable	PTO
Tibor Foki	IBEW Local 47	Labor
David Haerle II	L.A. Dept. Water & Power	Municipal Utility
Jorge Somoano	Burbank Water & Power	Municipal Utility



# If recommendations are approved the TMCC total composition would be:

Name	Organization	Interest Group
Stephen Rutty	California ISO	Acting Chairperson
Michael Palusso	Southern California Edison	PTO
Rajbir Beasla	Pacific Gas & Electric	PTO
Charles Cooper	Western Area Sierra Nevada	PTO
Frank Johnson	San Diego Gas & Electric	PTO
James Alligan	Trans Bay Cable	PTO
Tibor Foki	IBEW Local 47	Labor
Landis Marttila	IBEW Local 1245	Labor
David Haerle II	L.A. Dept. Water & Power	Municipal Utility
Jorge Somoano	Burbank Water & Power	Municipal Utility
Jesse Ante	California Public Utilities Commission	Regulatory
Jamie Patterson	California Energy Commission	Regulatory
Steve Mendoza	Western Wind Energy	Generation

